We are hiring a news reporter... Click Here

Visa-deprived people entering USA have opportunity to re-apply

The United States has announced that visa-free candidates from Muslim countries will be able to re-apply after being barred from entering the United States. The United States is offering re-applications to citizens of 13 countries whose visas have been denied due to former President Donald Trump’s Muslim ban.

Those who did not receive a visa before January 20, 2020, will have to re-apply with a new fee, Reuters quoted the country’s State Department as saying.

On January 20, the first day of the working day after Joe Biden became president, Trump lifted the so-called Muslim ban.

State Department spokeswoman Ned Price said in a statement Monday that those whose applications were rejected after Jan. 20 will be able to apply for reconsideration. These applicants do not have to pay a new fee.

Shortly after taking office in 2017, Trump’s executive order banned citizens of seven Muslim-majority countries from traveling to the United States. Later some countries were added to this list, some were left out.

Towards the end of Trump’s term, the list includes citizens of countries such as Myanmar, Eritrea, Iran, Kyrgyzstan, Libya, Nigeria, North Korea, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tanzania, Venezuela and Yemen.

In addition to banning citizens of those countries, Trump suspended the entry of refugees into the United States in his executive order. The order has raised suspicions, concerns and tensions across the Middle East and Africa. Family members are separated indefinitely. The long planned tour ends at the beginning.